Book Shelf with books

Top picks and award winners

Top picks

The Best Books of 2016 as decided by readers.

IndieBound Booksellers  
IndieBound is a community-based movement that supports local, independent New Zealand bookshops. Check out the Indie Top 20 for this week.

The Guardian 
Authors choose their favourite books on their chosen theme. Including the Vikings, Authentic Romances, Voyeurs, Megacities in Fiction and many more!

New York Times 
The week’s best sellers of combined Print and ebook Fiction. Also available is Non-fiction, Children’s and Monthly Lists, which include Crime, Business, Celebrities, Food and Diet, Science, Travel and Education.

Booksellers NZ 
Top selling New Zealand Fiction and Non-fiction for Adults, Children’s and Teens. You’ll also find lists of International Top 10 sales from New Zealand booksellers.

NPR Books
NPR’s Book Concierge Guide to great reads. Use filters to explore more than 300 recommended titles.

Award Winners

New Zealand Book Awards
Celebrating excellence and identifying the very best books for adult readers written by New Zealanders. The awards are judged in four main categories: Poetry, Fiction, Illustrated Non-fiction and General Non-fiction.

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 
The prize for Fiction is one of the seven that are annually awarded for Letters, Drama and Music. Recognising distinguished Fiction by an American author.

The Man Booker Prize
Leading UK literary prize, awarded each year for the best original novel published in the UK.

Award Winners – Children’s Books

New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults 
These awards are a unique celebration of the contribution New Zealand authors and illustrators make to building national identity and cultural heritage.

The Newbery Medal
Named for eighteenth-century British bookseller, John Newbery this prize is awarded by the American Library Association.

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals
The UK’s oldest and most prestigious Children’s Book Awards.

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

The 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 16 finalists have been announced. The finalists were selected from 40 longlist titles out of a total of 150 entries. The winners will be announced at the Auckland Writers Festival on Tuesday May 16.

Acorn Foundation Literature prize

The Acorn Foundation is a community foundation whose focus is on the Western Bay of Plenty region. The award is valued at $50,000.


  • Fale aitu / Spirit house, Tusiata Avia
  • Hera Lindsay Bird, Hera Lindsay Bird
  • Fits & starts, Andrew Johnston
  • This paper boat, Gregory Kan

Illustrated non-fiction

Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for general non-fiction

Last Reviewed: 22/03/2017