Local history timeline


  • takitimu arrives


    Takitimu arrives at Te Awanui (original name for Tauranga Harbour) - became known as Ngāti Ranginui.


  • red ochre


    Battle of Kokowai (red ochre) on Mauao: Ngāi Te Rangi conquest of Tauranga.

  • battle of mauao

    1820: January

    Battle of Mauao: Ngāpuhi chief, Te Morenga destroys Mauao Pā. Ngāi Te Rangi chief Te Wani saves Otūmoetai Pā - makes peace with Te Morenga at Matuaiwi Pā.  

    1828: March

    Sack of Otamataha Pā at Te Papa (Tauranga). Chief Koraurau along with 500 of his people are killed & many enslaved. The pā is destroyed & the site later becomes Mission Cemetery.

  • seige of otumoetai

    1832: March

    Siege of Ōtūmoetai: Ngāpuhi attack Otūmoetai Pā.

    1834: September

    Alfred Brown and William Williams select a site at Te Papa for a new Church Missionary Society (CMS) Mission Station.

    1838: January

    Reverend Alfred Nesbit Brown and family arrive at Te Papa.

  • Treaty of Waitangi Sheet
    1840: April

    Treaty of Waitangi sheet arrives in Tauranga. It is signed by 21 Māori.

    1842: May

    Sack of Ongare: Ngāti Tamaterā chief Tāraia destroys Ongare Pā near Katikati.

    1845: September

    Peace treaty between Ngāi Te Rangi and Arawa.

  • motiti


    Mōtītī Dispute: Ngāi Te Rangi and Arawa
    Mōtītī Dispute

  • gate pamaori victory

    1864: January

    Warships arrive in Tauranga Harbour - Military occupation.

    1864: April

    Battle of Gate Pā at Pukehinahina - Māori victory.

    1864: June

    Battle of Te Ranga - Imperial Troops victory.


    Military settlers taking up farm and town lots.

    1867: Jan - March

    Tauranga Bush Campaign.

  • BOP times established


    Bay of Plenty Times established.

  • George Vessey


    Tauranga gazetted a Borough. George Vesey Stewart elected first mayor.

  • ranui

    1950: December

    Ranui Disaster: 19 holiday makers and 3 crew drowned.

  • tauranga

    1963: July

    Kaimai Air Disaster: 23 people die in what remains New Zealand's worst internal aviation disaster.


    Tauranga becomes a city.

  • te awanui waka


    Kaimai Tunnel Collapse. The western end of the Kaimai tunnel collapses during construction. 11 men are trapped, 7 are rescued but 4 die.


    Te Awanui waka launched in Tauranga harbour.


    First train through Kaimai Tunnel.

  • townhall

    1981: September

    Ruahihi Canal Collapse: One day after Ruahihi Power Station is officially opened, the eastern bank of the canal supplying water to the Ruahihi Power Station collapses.

    1987: September

    Occupation of Tauranga Town Hall by Māori.


    Tauranga and Mount Maunganui Councils amalgamate. Name of Tauranga City changed to Tauranga District Council.


  • oceanside hotel


    Oceanside Hotel at Mount Maunganui demolished for high-rise apartments.

  • tauranga


    Population reaches 100,000. Tauranga District renamed Tauranga City.

  • rena disaster

    2011: October

    Rena Disaster: The MV Rena strikes on Otaiti (Astrolabe Reef). The result is New Zealand's worst maritime environmental disaster.



Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below.