Māori

Comprehensive selection of Māori online resources, useful for research into for example, whakapapa and history.

Online resources

The following require your library card and PIN/Password to access.

Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI) provides quick and easy access to the location of over 1100 hand written minute book records which were made between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. The MLCMBI database was created by the University of Auckland Library.  Ngā Wāhi Rangahau / Research Collections has bound photocopies of most of the Tauranga minute books, but does not have it on microfilm.  The link above takes you to the Knowledge Basket’s presentation of the Index. The link below takes you to the University of Auckland’s presentation of the Index. 
University of Auckland’s Maori Land Court Minute Books Index
Information about University of Auckland’s Maori Land Court Minute Books Index.

Treaty of Waitangi Collection – a searchable digital collection of books from Bridget Williams Books. It combines award-winning histories and social commentary from acclaimed authors.

Related Information

You may find the following useful

Māori Land Online - provides a snapshot of current ownership, trustee, memorial and block information for land that falls within the jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court under Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993 and other legislation.

Papers Past - digitalised historical New Zealand and Pacific newspapers, magazines and journals, letters and diaries, and parliamentary papers. It includes a collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1935.

Ngata Dictionary - extensive selection of English to Māori headwords, illustrating their use in sentences and phrases drawn from a wide range of contemporary and traditional contexts.

Niupepa: Māori Newspapers - collection of historic newspapers published primarily for a Māori audience between 1842 and 1932. The niupepa collection consists of over 17,000 pages taken from 34 separate periodicals.

NZ History – explore the history of New Zealand’s culture and society, politics and government, and the impact of war.

Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand – comprehensive guide to our peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy and society.

Te Kāhui Mangāi  - directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations. It is designed to provide information on iwi (tribes) in New Zealand; including their rohe, hapu, marae, and representative organisations.

He Pātaka Kupu Ture / The Legal Māori Archive – unprecedented collection of full text documents that presents, in one accessible place, the bilingual nature of New Zealand’s legal history. All these documents are what may be termed legal Māori documents.

Waitangi Tribunal - access published reports of the Waitangi Tribunal, as well as information about the Tribunal and what it does, and the claims process.


Last Reviewed: 23/08/2018
 

 
Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below