Business, government and law

A selection of comprehensive databases and useful resources for your research on business, market and financial information. Access to Government websites and authoritative legal information.

Access the following resources with your library card and PIN/Password.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Focusing on New Zealand and Australian content, this resource has a selection of full text articles covering business and law.

Business Source Elite
Full text coverage of scholarly and general business, management and economics journals. It covers topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business and marketing.

Lynda.com
Grow your professional skill set with online courses created by experts as well as access to exercises and relevant work samples.

QVCostbuilder 

An online platform that provides access to building cost data for those in the building trade industry and property professionals.
(Access available only within the library. Please see a Librarian to help you log in)

Related information

You may find the following useful:

Building Code
Find Acceptable Solutions, Verification Methods, updates and technical guidance by Building Code clause.  Provided by the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment’s Building System Performance Branch.

Business.govt.nz
Tools and advice from the government aimed mainly at small and mid-sized businesses.

Data for business – Statistics New Zealand
Useful tools for small New Zealand businesses with fewer than 20 employees.

Community Law Manual
Comprehensive and accessible guide to New Zealand law. It is a good starting point to search for information on law and legal issues.

Health Care Services Standards
The Ministry of Health has sponsored these health and disability and fertility services standards to be available to view online at no charge. Hospitals, rest homes, and some providers of residential disability care need to meet the health and disability services standards. Providers of fertility services are required to meet the fertility services standard.

LexisNexis
The Social Justice Module has a range of information about employment cases, care of children and how to find a lawyer.  

New Zealand Government
Useful guide for finding and using government services. For example, immigration, work, tax, benefits and finance, law and justice.

New Zealand Law Society – Guides to the law
Series of guides on a range of issues from the New Zealand law society. 

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)
Offers free access to New Zealand legal information including case law, legislation, and law review articles.

New Zealand Legislation
Authoritative source of Acts, Bills and Legislative Instruments, Supplementary Order Papers and links to other instruments.

New Zealand Parliament
The legislative branch of New Zealand, this site provides access to information about parliamentary business, MPs and electorates. Contains information on the NZ system of Government, how laws are made, and how parliament works.

Standards New Zealand and the Building Code
The Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment (Building System Performance) has funded free, downloadable access to over 120 standards used for Building Code compliance.  This initiative fits within Standards New Zealand’s strategy of working with regulators and industry to get more standards pre-funded, as well as enabling better access to standards that make a difference to the wellbeing of New Zealanders.


Last Reviewed: 18/02/2020
 

 
Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below.