Researching your whakapapa? Wondering where to start?
Access the following resources with your library card and PIN//Password.
(Full access available only within the library). Trace your family history across billions of records, including census, military and immigration records from the United Kingdom, and across the world, including Australia and New Zealand.
British Newspaper Archive
(Full access available only within the library). Access millions of digital historic newspapers from the British Library. It includes news articles, family notices, letter, obituaries and advertisements.
Find My Past
(Full access available only within the library). Search through billions of family history records from across the globe, including birth, marriage and death records, census and military records, historical newspapers and lots more.
Māori Land Court Minute Books Index (MLCMBI) provides quick and easy access to the location of over 1100 hand written minute book records which were made between 1865 and 1910, from the Taitokerau, Waikato-Maniapoto, Tairawhiti, Waiariki, Aotea, Takitimu, and Waipounamu Māori Land Court Districts. The MLCMBI database was created by the University of Auckland Library. Ngā Wāhi Rangahau / Research Collections has bound photocopies of most of the Tauranga minute books, but does not have it on microfilm. The link above takes you to the Knowledge Basket’s presentation of the Index. The link below takes you to the University of Auckland’s presentation of the Index.
University of Auckland’s Maori Land Court Minute Books Index.
Information about University of Auckland’s Maori Land Court Minute Books Index.
MyHeritage Library Edition
The MyHeritage database includes birth, death and marriage records from 48 countries, the complete U.S. and U.K. censuses, immigration, military and tombstone records and more than 3 billion family tree profiles.
You may find the following useful:
Birth, Deaths and Marriages Online
Search for and order New Zealand Government records for births, deaths and marriages (BDM). The historic data available to search is limited so that information relating to people who might still be alive, can be protected
NZ History – Genealogy Links
Comprehensive collection of websites for family history research covering New Zealand, Australia and internationally.
Digitalised historical New Zealand and Pacific newspapers, magazines and journals, letters and diaries and parliamentary papers.
Tauranga City Libraries have many other resources and classes to assist you in your genealogy research.
Last Reviewed: 29/04/2019