Kids Code

Tech Hour

Events and programmes cancelled until further notice.

To help reduce the risk of exposure to illness, we have cancelled all children’s and adult programmes and events at the libraries from Monday, 23 March 2020.

Remember, the libraries are all still open – please come in and use our facilities. We recommend you practice social distancing from others – as a general rule, keep at least one metre between you and other people. 

Due to popular demand, Tauranga City Libraries are now running a series of 7-week technology tasters for kids aged between 8-13 years old.

‘Tech Hour’ is a great way to be introduced to a world of coding and design. Learn basic Scratch & HTML programming, tinker with Edison and Ozobot robots, create your own game with Makey Makey circuits and produce your own greenscreen movie masterpiece; then finish the 7-week programme in style by making a motorised bot and receiving a ‘Tech Hour’ completion certificate to take home. 

Children can only enrol once and numbers are limited to 10 per branch, per 7-week programme. Code clubs at Tauranga City Libraries have proven to be extremely popular, so we do ask that parents ensure their child attends all seven sessions. 

To find out more about Tech Hour please email: shannon.bristowe@tauranga.govt.nz

 

Tech Hour will be offered at the following branches and times:

Tauranga Library

First Session: Monday 6 April, 4-5pm

Second Session: Monday 4 May, 4-5pm

Third Session: Monday 11 May, 4-5pm

Fourth Session: Monday 18 May, 4-5pm

Fifth Session: Monday 25 May, 4-5pm

Six Session: Friday 29 May, 4-5pm

Seventh Session: Friday 7 June, 4-5pm

(Two classes delivered on a Friday due to Public Holidays)

Click to register for this course: https://tec-hour-tauranga-term2.eventbrite.co.nz

 

Papamoa Library

First Session: Tuesday 7 April, 3.30-4.30pm

Second Session: Tuesday 28 April, 3.30-4.30pm

Third Session: Tuesday 5 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Fourth Session: Tuesday 12 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Fifth Session: Tuesday 19 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Six Session: Tuesday 26 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Seventh Session: Tuesday 7 June, 3.30-4.30pm

Click to register for this course: https://tech-hour-papamoa-term2.eventbrite.co.nz

 

 Greerton Library

First Session: Wednesday 8 April, 3.30-4.30pm

Second Session: Wednesday 29 April, 3.30-4.30pm

Third Session: Wednesday 6 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Fourth Session: Wednesday 13 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Fifth Session: Wednesday 20 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Six Session: Wednesday 27 May, 3.30-4.30pm

Seventh Session: Wednesday 8 June, 3.30-4.30pm

Click to register for this course: https://tech-hour-greerton-term2.eventbrite.co.nz

 


Last Reviewed: 20/03/2020
 

 
Please enter the code shown
Enter the code shown above in the box below.