General reference

A broad selection of online resources to assist with general research.

Online resources

The following require your library card and pin to access.

Academic Search Elite
Full text articles covering most academic disciplines, dating as far back as 1985.

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre
Range of perspectives on different issues relevant to New Zealand and Australia.

Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Information from magazines, reference books and newspapers focussing on New Zealand and Australian content.

Britannica Library
Provides access to reliable and current information from the online and interactive version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Specific areas for adults, children and teens.

MasterFile Complete
Designed specifically for public libraries, it offers a large collection of full text magazines, reference books and other highly regarded sources covering topics such as health, finance and other general interest areas.

Newztext
Full text and indexes of contents of major newspapers, business journals and magazines published in New Zealand, as well as family notices.

New Zealand Geographic
Online archive of the New Zealand Geographic Magazine. Focussing on local content and images, it also includes NZGeo TV which contains hundreds of hours of natural history video.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Offers differing perspectives on a range of social, political and technological issues. Useful resource for conducting research and preparing for debates.

Oxford English Dictionary
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, it is a guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Related Information

You may find the following useful

Index New Zealand
Access to abstracts and descriptions of articles from a range of New Zealand journals and newspapers since the 1950s.

Te Ara Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Comprehensive guide to our peoples, natural environment, history, culture, economy and society.

Te Puna Search
Web based search engine for finding material held in New Zealand libraries and worldwide. 


Last Reviewed: 14/03/2017